In Texas, there are two categories of offenses – misdemeanors and felonies. Felonies are more serious than misdemeanors and carry stricter punishments, including longer jail sentences and higher fines.
What are misdemeanor penalty ranges in Texas?
Misdemeanors fall into three classifications: Class C, Class B, and Class A. They are punishable by:
- Class C — a maximum $500 fine.
- Class B — up to 180 days in county jail and a maximum $2,000 fine.
- Class A — up to one year in county jail and a maximum $4,000 fine.
What are felony penalty ranges in Texas?
Felonies are categorized into five levels or “degrees” — state jail, third-degree, second-degree, first-degree and capital felony.
- A state jail felony is punishable by 6 months to 2 years in a state jail facility and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A third-degree felony is punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A second-degree felony is punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A first-degree felony is punishable by 5 to 99 years or life in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- Capital murder is the most serious offense in Texas, punishable by life in prison without parole or the death penalty.
If you are accused of a crime, it’s important to understand the full range of punishment you are facing. Our experienced Dallas criminal defense attorneys will discuss the consequences of being convicted of an offense. Call today for a free consultation.